Holy Orders

Holy orders

Holy Orders

“Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1536)“The sacrament of Holy Orders is conferred by the laying on of hands followed by a solemn prayer of consecration asking God to grant the ordinand the graces of the Holy Spirit required for his ministry. Ordination imprints an indelible sacramental character.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1597)


Priesthood and Diaconate

The Church calls some of its members to ordination and service within the faith community as priests and deacons.  Most often this call is first recognized and encouraged by the family and the parish. 

It is a life-choice further strengthened through programs of education and formation provided by our diocese.  As a parish we pray for and support those who are making these life-commitments of service and leadership within the Church.

Vowed Religious Life

In the tradition of our faith, adult men and women continue to choose to serve others as brothers and sisters living in community.  Their life-styles are shaped by the Gospel values of poverty, obedience, and chastity, serving the Church and the world in a variety of ways.  

For further information contact the Diocese of Venice, Florida 

Scriptural reference for the Sacrament of Holy Orders:

St. Paul said to his disciple Timothy:
"I remind you to rekindle the gift of God that is within you through the laying on of my hands"  --2 Timothy 1:6
"If any one aspires to the office of the bishop, he desires a noble task."   --1 Timothy 3:1